His Eye is on the Sparrow

house-sparrows-in-a-parkingHis Eye Is on the Sparrow

Civilla D. Martin, 1905

Why should I feel discouraged, why should the shadows come,
Why should my heart be lonely, and long for heav’n and home,
When Jesus is my portion? My constant Friend is He:
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Refrain:
I sing because I’m happy, I sing because I’m free,
For His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

“Let not your heart be troubled,” His tender word I hear,
And resting on His goodness, I lose my doubts and fears;
Though by the path He leadeth, but one step I may see;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Female House Sparrow

Female House Sparrow

Male House Sparrow Eating Crumbs

Male House Sparrow Eating Crumbs

 

I’ll admit this post is a departure from my usual, but in looking through my photos of the past year, this one of all those house sparrows on a pile of brush stood out.

His Eye is on the Sparrow

His Eye is on the Sparrow

It wasn’t because it’s a great photo, but because it reminded me of people. We tend to think of sparrows as common. After all, there are so many of them and they’re often found in ordinary places such as parking lots and brush piles. Sometimes, we feel just like that—common and lost in the crowd. God doesn’t think of us that way. To him, we’re special one-of-a-kind creations. For so many and for various reasons, the Holidays are a difficult time. This holiday season be encouraged, because God cares about you.

Curbside House Sparrow

Curbside House Sparrow

4 thoughts on “His Eye is on the Sparrow

  1. Tonight I discovered your pictures of sparrows and was thrilled.
    I am writing a play for Gitana Productions that celebrates the Extraordinary things ordinary people do. I have titled it EYE ON THE SPARROW: The World Within St. Louis.

    Gitana is a small not for profit organization. I wondered if you could grant us the use of one of your pictures for our advertising purposes. Please feel free to contact me or Cecilia Nadal through Gitana Productions 314 721 6556.

    Your work is lovely and so is the heart.

    Blessings –
    Patton Chiles

    • Thank you. Your play sounds interesting. Ordinary people do extraordinary things and should be recognized so as to encourage others. I’m blessed that you have taken on this venture. I hope all goes well for you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 352 other followers

