white-tailed grazing

Windy fall days portend night freezes

yet under gray clouds I will praise

each season’s turn as it pleases

for I’ve gone to graze

:

The meadow’s emerald hair

with tender sweetness vanishing

‘tis now my daily fare

while I stroll a-foraging

:

In the grove’s sequestered thicket

succulent berry scents rouse

amid a white-tailed market

supremely fit to browse

:

Soon I’ll sleep mid moonlit blue

in snow no longer thawing

then shoots of sassafras and yew

await my hungry gnawing

:

Note: I took these photos in late October along Skyline Drive in beautiful Shenandoah National Park.

4 thoughts on “white-tailed grazing

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 353 other followers

