Poisoned!

Our Memorial Day began pleasantly with a drive south to the Florida Keys where our aging sailboat is moored in Florida Bay. Once onboard my husband motored to a small mangrove covered island, one of our favorite photography spots.  

 

We’d visited several times in the past, exploring the depths of the red and black mangrove woods to photograph tropical birds that roost there. On previous trips we spied on great white egrets and their young tucked in stick woven nests high in the tops of waving mangrove branches.

 Young Great White Egrets

 

On this visit we found at least ten active nests of double-crested cormorants. Choruses of peeping chicks greeted us. Anchoring and paddling to the prop-root covered shore in our small dingy, we began a slow and careful trek to the island’s interior. We moved quietly, respectful of the nesting birds. Climbing gingerly from root to root while hanging onto slender tree trunks or carefully stepping between the numerous pencil-like breathing tubes, or pneumatophores, of the black mangrove that protruded from the damp marl floor we finally positioned ourselves behind the cormorant’s nests. White guano covered everything: nests, branches, tree trunks, and forest floor around the rookery making our surroundings more than unpleasant. Getting a clear shot of a nesting cormorant seemed nearly impossible due to jungle like vegetation and the 18-20 foot height of the nests. Only occasionally would a tiny beak pop above a nest’s rim.

 

Double-crested Cormorant on the Nest

 

After a few captures, we proceeded inland. As I grasped a tree trunk for stability, instantly a searing pain shot through my palm, a sensation much like plucking a hot coal from the fire. “Ahh! What is that?” I cried. There on the trunk sat a seemingly innocuous hairy gray inch-long caterpillar.

 

Puss Caterpillar 

 

The pain intensified. Overwhelmed by the need to get to the shoreline and plunge my hand in saltwater, I forged ahead of my husband. The water felt cool, yet brought no relief. Once back on our boat I realized that the poison had begun to spread. My palm had become red and swollen and now my thumb felt on fire. The way back home demanded patience and endurance. First, we had to ask another boat to move so we could back away from the island. The winds had picked up and become contrary, so the trip back to our mooring presented challenges. As the poison spread, finger by finger along with red trails of inflammation, I soaked my hand in a bucket of saltwater and prayed. Deciding to head home instead of seeking assistance we found the highway blocked by Memorial Day travelers and single lane traffic due to bridge construction. Meanwhile, my whole hand continued to burn with unbearable crushing pain. It felt cold, but it wasn’t, and my joints ached deeply as the intense hurting came in waves, yet I knew I would be okay.

 

By the time we reached home, about five hours after being stung, my entire hand had swelled and my wrist ached as well as the muscles of my forearm. I went straight to the Internet and learned that I had been stung by a puss caterpillar, the most poisonous caterpillar in the United States. I also discovered that immediately applying scotch tape to the wound might extract some of the poisonous spines, so I tried that even though so much time had passed. Online accounts from other victims said that a poultice of grated ginger and potato brought relief. Quickly, my husband prepared the vegetable mash and applied it to my hand. I kept that on all evening, changing it when it began to dry. All throughout the evening I felt so restless that I couldn’t sit still, so I walked around the neighborhood. About 12 hours after being stung the pain eased slightly and amazingly I fell asleep. When dawn awakened me, all of the swelling had disappeared. Although I felt bits of soreness come and go during the morning, by noon all pain had left. My hand, however, bore the brand of the caterpillar’s spines.

 

Caterpillar Branded Hand

 

When reading of some of the severe symptoms that other people have suffered, such as swollen glands, shock, fever, muscle cramps, and pain lasting four to five days, I am so grateful. I know that God heard me and answered my prayers.

8 thoughts on “Poisoned!

  1. Sis,

    Definite ouch! Now that the pain has died down, I can chuckle about you being attacked by a killer puss catepillar.
    I pray that the after effects don’t include growing long poisonous gray spines, though they might match your hair….

    Love, Lil’ Brother

  2. Thanks, Aaron.
    The “brand” fades a bit each day. I don’t think I’ll have any scars. I guess my passion for photography comes with a price.

    Lil’ brother,
    Beware of some sporting graying hair,
    Beneath those silver strands lies a snare.

  3. O-o-oh! Not fun–to say the least! God does answer prayers, doesn’t He! I wonder if onion would work on that kind of sting as great as it does on bee, wasps, and scorpion stings….it’d be worth trying. Onion has saved me (and the children) numerous times–including the time I was stung twice in a matter of seconds by a scorpion! Anyway, we’re very relieved to hear you’re doing MUCH better! Praise God!

  4. Ouch!! I’m so sorry to hear of your encounter, but I must say your story has taught me and the children what kind of caterpillar NOT to pick up and bring home (we have a couple that we are keeping in jars now). Your pics are so beautiful! Florida birds are my fav. Thanks for your stories and sorry again you were poisoned…. *:)

  5. What a journey with God. I did not realize that there were such things as ‘poisonous’ caterpillars. I wonder if they eventually turn into butterflies. The image of that scar on your hand . . . a powerful impression of a different kind! Hoping that all ill effects have left you.

  6. Pingback: island adventure « Morningjoy’s Weblog

  7. Pingback: The fuzzy little caterpillar « for whom the yarn tolls

Leave a Reply

