Night Stalker

Black Crowned Night Heron

Black Crowned Night Heron

Juvenile Black Crowned Night Heron

Juvenile Black Crowned Night Heron

Night Stalker

Slip silently into silky shallows

Let clawed toes ply marled mud

Blend silver feathers into shadows deep

Stalk

Beware curled crustacean

Leap far leopard frog

Flip your tail fine finned friend

Flee

Part cloud-wisps all seeing moon

Night herons prowl beneath your gleam

Red eyes lock, sharp bills strike

Snap

Darkness cover telling ripples

Predator and prey’s purpose fulfilled

One to grasp, another to yield

Silence

Yellow Crowned Night Heron

Yellow Crowned Night Heron

Yellow Crowned Night Heron Preening

Yellow Crowned Night Heron Preening

7 thoughts on “Night Stalker

  1. These are fabulous captures! You’ve really come a long way in your bird photography. The words (is that an original poem?) in the poem go well with the subject.

    As for the photos, check your settings when preparing them for the web. Maybe there’s a setting which got moved on you. That happens to me all the time. 😛

    • Thanks, Scott. I find myself growing, but the road ahead is pretty long. I’m having fun, though. Excellent photographers like you have helped me so much.
      Yes, the poem is original. I appreciate your advice on my dulled images. I’m sure the problem will be resolved.

  2. Love the photos and poem! As for my preference for medium or large photos, I like the large photos because of the beautiful detail they show, but the medium are also nice because I don’t have a very large screen (most people probably don’t have that problem). Hope that helps!

  3. Your photographs of birds absolutely blow me away with their beauty and image quality. I read somewhere that Audubon actually killed his birds in order to paint them. How fortunate we are that we need only use a camera to capture their image. Your poem is wonderful.

  4. Thank you, Suzanne. The whole photographic capture process is indeed wonderful. I like the bird photographer’s philosophy of doing no harm. It’s a privilege to bring a bird’s image into my lens to study and thereby appreciate it more.

Leave a Reply

