the beach least traveled

beach-traveler1

Florida has some beautiful beaches. Recently, we went in search of  one famous for the largest outcropping of Anastasia limestone on the Atlantic coast, Blowing Rocks Preserve. Its unusual name comes from the up to 50 foot “geysers” created when wind drives surf through holes in the rocks. I wanted to photograph the beach at sunset and again at sunrise the next morning. On the day we chose, an easterly wind piled the sea high enough for some real wave action. We arrived in late afternoon only to find that the preserve’s hours are from 9:00 to 4:30! Disappointed, we searched for nearby beach access and  found Coral Cove Park, also known as Little Blowing Rocks.

coral-cove-surfWe found the beach deserted except for a few active shorebirds.

Ring-billed Gull

Ring-billed Gull

Semipalmated Sandpiper

Semipalmated Sandpiper

The next morning we crawled out of our beds at 5:00 and drove the 15 miles from our motel back to Coral Cove, determined to catch the sunrise. The waves had calmed somewhat and once again we had the beach all to ourselves.  As the horizon began to glow, I readied my tripod, camera, and cable release for the big moment.

. . . make a joyful noise before the King, the Lord! Let the sea roar, and all that fills it; the world and those who dwell in it! Psalm 98:6b-7

. . . make a joyful noise before the King, the Lord! Let the sea roar, and all that fills it; the world and those who dwell in it! Psalm 98:6b-7

Awash in Morning Light

Awash in Morning Light

I set my camera free of its tripod and walked the beach allowing the fresh ocean breeze to envelop me as I took in the glory of this unique time and place.

Sea Jaws

Sea Jaws

Treasures of Sand and Surf

Treasures of Sand and Surf

Like every beautiful experience this one had come to an end. We left the beach and stopped on the way to enjoy a view of  Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse.

Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse

Jupiter Inlet Lighthouse

I treasure the memories of this trip because it taught me to look beyond frustrated plans and hopes to seek and enjoy the beach least traveled.

14 thoughts on “the beach least traveled

  1. Absolutley breathtaking!! I don’t think there is any other place on earth where I feel more close to the Lord as the beach..one’s like these that is. Thank you again for sharing. Where was this, by the way?

  2. I wouldn’t know about places like Coral Cove Park or Blowing Rocks Preserve if it wasn’t for your beautiful photography. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Wow, Mom, your pictures and God’s beautiful creation have taken my breath away! Thank you so much for this blessing. Now I want to go to this beach too!!! 🙂

  4. Mom,
    The sunrise photos are stunning. It’s definitely worth getting up early for shots like those. I’m inspired to make plans for our beach camping trip now! Kell

    Grandma,
    I agree with Mom. Those are some…. supercalifragilisticexpealidocious pictures! I would love to be there with you. You can actually feel what it had been like when you took those amazing pictures! Gab

  5. It was kind of you, Karen, to come and visit us at Lee’s Birdwatching Adventures. As a result, I decided to mosey over to your exquisite website and found many blessings. Thank you for uplifting His holy name in Word and picture. You are wondrously gifted!

    Val Lee Author of Cliques in the Church, Apostasy in the Church, and Esther/Looming Holocaust—see Amazon.com. These books can also be read at http://vallee7.wordpress.com/.

  6. I want you to know that I appreciate each one of you for your kind comments. You inspire me to get out to places of natural beauty and improve my craft. I couldn’t; probably wouldn’t, do it without you.

  7. What a spectacular place, Karen. I’ve never been to Florida and you’ve helped me realize that there’s so much more to the state than Disneyworld and South Beach. This is a little paradise and your images have captured it beautifully.

  8. These are wonderful Karen. I love the Seagull in the frothy waters. Sometimes we come to photograph something (sunset) and because the stars don’t align for us we are forced to shoot something else. I shot some of my best photographs this way. That’s what I love so much about photography, that you can always find something wonderful to shoot.

  9. Your photos are so inspiring and refreshing — beautiful is not enough to describe them —
    thank you for sharing —

Leave a Reply

