Endless Caverns

Far reaches of Endless CavernsRecently my summer travels brought me to Shenandoah Valley in Virginia. There at the foot of the Massanutten Mountain range I found and toured Endless Caverns. One of the first questions I asked my guide concerned the reason for the caverns’ name. I learned that although five miles of passages have been mapped, much of the complex labyrinth of this underground wonder has yet to be explored. Some of those areas have been declared unsafe due to shifts in the rock tables.

Discovered in 1879 by two boys and a dog when following a rabbit, the cave was wired to provide light for visitors in 1920. Before that time, the caverns were lit by candles. At one point in our tour, when 92 feet below ground, our guide turned off the lights. I have never experienced such depth of ebony darkness. I could not see my hand in front of my face!

Here are a few of the photos I took while on our tour. Notice that the natural color of the cave has been allowed to show, unchanged by colored lights. I appreciated seeing the genuine glory of these unique natural formations. Once more I felt amazed by the beauty of one of God’s “secret” creations, deep underground.

A Narrow Passageway

A Narrow Passageway

One of Many Large Rooms

One of many Large Rooms filled with Draperies and Columns

Tear Drop shaped Stalactite Ceiling

Tear Drop shaped Stalactite Ceiling

This is one of my favorite formations.

EC waterfall

Waterfall Formation with Calcite Flowstone

An Example of Color Variations Caused by Mineral Deposits

An Example of Color Variations Caused by Mineral Deposits

A Shield Formation

A Shield Formation

A Variety of Formations

A Variety of Formations

Curtains

Curtains

There are several caverns in the Shenandoah Valley that are open for public viewing. Several years ago, I visited and enjoyed Luray Caverns. Every cavern experience is unique. In each one the beauty of water dripping through limestone rocks along with mineral staining creates wondrous formations, each a distinctive creation. Viewing them is an experience that should not be missed.

3 thoughts on “Endless Caverns

  1. these are amazing shots – and i love “God’s “secret” creations” – makes me wonder how many amazing things we’ve yet to discover….

    • Thanks, Joaquin. I’m eagerly looking forward to purchasing a macro lens so that I can appreciate all of the tiny details in flowers and insects that my eyes miss. While in the caverns I got a look at the bats that live there. They were surprisingly small. Just imagine navigating by echolocation–pretty awesome.

  2. So glad you gave me the excuse to see this natural wonder. It’s an experience I will not soon forget! I still can’t believe how wonderfully cool it was in the caverns.

Leave a Reply

