jamaica, ya mon!

2009-07-24_Jamaica_0002_edi

Looking North from Kingston

I just spent eight delightful days in Jamaica. Thanks to the generosity of friends, whose relatives opened their homes to us, I had the opportunity to taste of this beautiful land for little cost. I left my photo gear at home and borrowed my husband’s Nikon P6000 for the trip. I love this little camera. Perfect for travel, this small  lightweight camera offers much of the control of a DSLR; all at an amazing 13.5 megapixels.

Although we found the July weather hot, a pleasant breeze flowed from mountain or ocean making the tropics pleasantly bearable. Jamaican food compares with the best of worldwide cuisines. Fresh fruits and vegetables, fragrant baked goods, festival (like sweet fried cornbread), creamy ice cream in tropical flavors, jerk spices, and curry goat topped my list of favorites. An afternoon’s trip west of Kingston to Hellshire, where it is hot, dry, and filled with macka bush (brush and cactus), brought us to a treasure of sandy beach and restaurant shacks at ocean side. There fishing dories delivered their fresh catch of fish and lobster to be cooked over hot coals for the sweetest seafood delicacies imaginable.

The Kitchen at Prendy's

The Kitchen at Prendy's

Festival, Snapper, Lobster, and Coconut Milk

Festival, Snapper, Lobster, and Coconut Milk

Seabirds soared over the beach in hopes of snatching bits left over from fish cleaning.

Magnificent Frigatebird

Magnificent Frigatebird

A hair raising switch-back filled trip across the mountains afforded breathtaking views of bamboo forests and river-cut valleys. At one stop above Stony Hill, I chanced to see children feasting on a breakfast of fresh breadfuit after which they plunged into a pool  in their nearly dry river.

Morning Swim

Morning Swim

We pulled off the road (risky business) somewhere above Port Maria for this shot. Despite Jamaica’s current dry conditions lush greenery covered the rocky slopes.

Mountain Vista

Mountain Vista

These brightly painted houses caught my eye.

Hillside Homes

Hillside Homes

Once on the modern highway that traverses the North Coast, we stopped at one of many roadside stands.

Ackee, Mangoes, and Bananas--Yum!

Ackee, Mangoes, and Bananas--Yum!

We spent several days in and near Discovery Bay. Just look at that water!

Jamaican-Lagoon

Jamaica-D-B-Beach

Here’s an evening photo of an old church in Brown’s Town.

Anglican Church

Anglican Church

Of all my Jamaican experiences, the ever smiling warmth of the people shines brightest.  I hope for the opportunity to visit them and their Caribbean island nation again.

No Problem!

No Problem!

14 thoughts on “jamaica, ya mon!

  1. enjoyed the blog. One day I’ll experience vacation in Jamaica! could have stowed away in your carry-on!

  2. Truly enjoyed your blog Karen. You were so fortunate to be able to experience the beauty of Jamaica. Your photos and commentary make me want to visit.

  3. Karen,

    Out of all your Jamica pictures – your beautiful smile – outshines everything else. Looks like you had a wonderful time. soulintention

    • Yes, I had a wonderful time in every way. I relaxed, but most importantly I learned some beautiful lessons from beautiful people. From what I’ve seen on your fantastic blog, I think you would have loved it.

  4. Gorgeous photos of a beautiful place…and a beautiful Mom! So glad you had this much deserved opportunity. Next time you visit we must come with!

  5. Welcome back.
    It looks absolutely wonderful in Jamaica. The color of the water is dragging. I have just seen the same color – but freezingly cold. Will show it if the holyday pictures include something worth presenting.
    You seem to have enjoyed your time very much. – Thanks for sharing.

    • Thank you for your comment. The water around Jamaica is beautiful. It is so clear that gauging depth is difficult; it looks shallower than it is. The sand is powdery fine.
      I look forward to seeing the hues of your cold Danish waters. I imagine the sky has a lot to do with how blue the water appears.

  6. Pingback: mango munchies « Morningjoy’s Weblog

Leave a comment